From Points to Paints

On July 6th, I gave a talk in the Math Encounters series for the Museum of Mathematics. If you were at the talk, welcome! Whether or not you were there, you can find information below relating to the talk, to mathematical models, and to modern art. If you want to watch the Prezi from the 6th, here it is.

Mathematical Models

For more information about mathematical models, you can start with the paper Mathematical Models and Modern Art: Bridges 2010. You can also see the website that I maintain about mathematical models, which includes a report I wrote on the models in the MIT collection .

If you would like to see some models yourself, take a look at the list of collections that I have found (and if you know of a collection not on this list, please let me know). Several of the collections have online catalogs so that you can see some models, even if you can’t travel to them.

It is also increasingly possible to find old catalogs of models digitized, for instance:

Recently, the blog hyperbolic crochet had a post about mathematical models at the Poincare Institute in Paris.

Artists and Art

You can find a copy of a portion of Naum Gabo and Antoine Pevsner’s Realistic Manifesto here (and included is audio of Gabo reading the full text).

Apparently Marcel Duchamp was into anaglyphs, and read Vuibert’s book on creating geometric anaglyphs, which can be found here. Anaglyphs provide another method of visualizing 3-dimensional mathematics (and one not as expensive or cumbersome as physical models, although missing their physicality as well). And speaking of Duchamp, there was a symposium at Harvard about connections between Duchamp and Poincaré back in 1999 and interesting information from the conference can still be found through this link.

Hiroshi Sugimoto did a series of photographs of mathematical models at the University of Tokyo. Some of these were printed in New York Times Magazine and can still be found online. There is also more information about these Sugimoto works here.

Let me know if there is anything more you want to know about these wonderful models or their encounter with the world of art (or mathematics and art in general)!

3 thoughts on “From Points to Paints

  1. Peter Ojiambo says:

    Attended the presentation to further my interest in programmable generative art especially in areas of fractals and mathematical representation.

    Really enjoyed your presentation and I am grateful for your hard work and just want to express my appreciation.

    I would like to ask to please upload a link to the presentation just for reference. I am also looking for a quotation you used I cant seem to find. Thank you!

  2. Johanna Ramirez says:

    Hello. I went to Math Encounters presentation from points to paint. I do not know if you remember me but I was the person that asked about the MIT cataloguing of models and they were available to the public. You mention a mathematical models book your professor recommended and that this sparked your interest in mathematical model. Do you happen to know the titleof that book? What advice do give to aspiring mathematicians? Thank you.

  3. faroop says:

    Peter – I did get it uploaded just now to: http://prezi.com/y1gvt_3cn_de/from-points-to-paints-mathematical-models-and-modern-art/ — let me know if there’s any attribution missing that you are curious about

    Johanna — Yes, I remember! The book is Mathematical Models by Gerd Fischer. And I’ve just put on my list of things to do to upload the MIT catalog, so I should be able to get that done tomorrow.

    Thanks to both of you for coming to the talk!

Leave a Reply

