First Day

Is there anything better or worse than the first day of classes? There’s so much potential in the air, but also so much anxiety. This semester I really want to be connecting with my students, but it’s so hard to be open for that connection because when you open yourself up you risk rejection. So instead of feeling really open, I prepare the heck out of my first classes so that nothing is left to chance and I can be certain everything will be great. But, of course, when I over-prepare I don’t leave any room for the students. Instead it becomes all about me and the hopefully great things that I can do.

So, as usual, I’m prepared, maybe even over-prepared. I can’t really stop myself, because these first moments are so important to me. But I’m going to spend a little while just thinking about what might happen and creating a little room for the students to come in and join me.

Leave a Reply

